A Flashback of the T20 World Cup previously played in the West Indies

It was in 2010 that the 3rd edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was solely hosted by the West Indies featuring12 participating teams — 10 Test-playing nations and 2 Qualifier teams. After 14 years, once again the West Indies is set to host the 9th edition of the mega event along with the USA as co-host. The upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 starts on June 1 (based on the US timings) and according to the Indian standard timings (IST), the tournament will commence on June 2.

Even after 14 years, certain important events of the tournament remain fresh in every cricket fan’s memory, and cherishing those moments would be exciting.

Best Memorable Moments of T20 World Cup 2010 in West Indies

Here are the most valuable moments of the ICC T20 World Cup 2010 hosted by the West Indies:

David Warner was a youngster participating in his first T20 World Cup:

As a 23-year-old opening batter, David Warner played his first ICC World Cup tournament in a T20 format for Australia in the Caribbean soil in 2010.

In 7 innings, the Aussie opener scored 150 runs with a stunning half-century against India. These are the scores of David Warner in his first T20 World Cup tournament:

  • 26 runs from 18 balls (including 4 fours and 1 six) vs Pakistan.
  • 16 runs from 11 balls (including 2 fours and 1 six) vs Bangladesh.
  • 72 runs from 42 balls (including 2 fours and 7 sixes) vs India.
  • 9 runs from 12 balls (including 1 four) vs Sri Lanka.
  • 25 runs from 12 balls (including 4 fours and 1 six) vs West Indies.
  • 0 from 2 balls vs Pakistan (Semi-Final).
  • 2 runs from 4 balls vs England (Finals).

In 2010. David Warner was a young and confident cricketer who grabbed several spectators’ attention as a promising player for the future. After 14 years, when we look back at his performance it’s clear how Warner has grown and transformed himself as a mature and core player for the Australian cricket team.

Afghanistan playing their first ever ICC Tournament:

The 3rd edition of the T20 World Cup witnessed Afghanistan participating in the ICC tournament for the first time. In 14 years, the Afghanistan cricket team has progressed from a newcomer to being seen as a team that has a chance of making it into the semi-finals, which is indeed a remarkable achievement.

During that time, the Afghanistan captain Nawroz Mangal led several young players in the squad namely Asghar Afghan (22 years), Mohammad Shahzad (23 years), Mohammad Nabi (25 years), and Shapoor Zadran (22 years), who were seen as the future stars of the Afghan cricket.

Even though Afghanistan lost both its matches against India and South Africa, the tournament marked a new beginning for the entire team in international cricket. In other words, despite being eliminated, the T20 World Cup in 2010 was the starting point where the Afghan cricketers began to grow and establish themselves among the competitive teams. 

Michael Hussey scoring 20 runs vs Saeed Ajmal:

The semi-final match between Australia and Pakistan 14 years ago was one of the most iconic moments in cricket history; where the Aussies required 18 runs off the last over to enter into the finals. Australian batter Michael Hussey batting at the No.7 position scored 20 runs in the last over bowled by Saeed Ajmal by smashing 6,6,4 and 6 to grab an impossible victory.

Chasing a target of 191 runs, the Aussies were struck down to a total of 140-6, and it seemed impossible to score the required 53 runs from 3.3 overs. However, Hussey’s unbeaten knock of 60 runs from 24 balls (including 3 fours and 6 sixes), single-handedly guided the Aussies with a ball to spare.

Suresh Raina- The First Indian to score T20I century:

On 2nd May 2010, Suresh Raina, a 23-year-old cricketer, became the first Indian in the history of cricket to score a T20I century.

Batting against the powerful South African bowling attack that consisted of Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, and several others, Raina’s magnificent knock of 101 runs from 60 balls (including 9 fours and 5 sixes), steered India to post a total of 186-5 in 20 overs. Also, he became India’s first T20 centurion as well as the second centurion in the T20 World Cup.

Kevin Pietersen: Player of the Tournament

England Batter Kevin Pietersen batting at the No.3 position achieved the Player of the Tournament award in the T20 World Cup 2010 for smashing 248 runs in 6 innings at an average of 62.00 and 137.8 strike rate. These are the scores of Kein Pietersen against these opponent teams in the tournament:

  • 24 runs from 20 balls (including 1 four and 1 six) vs West Indies.
  • 9 runs from 18 balls vs Ireland.
  • 73 runs from 52 balls (including 8 fours and 2 sixes) vs Pakistan.
  • 53 runs from 33 balls (including 8 fours and 1 six) vs South Africa.
  • *42 runs from 26 balls (including 3 fours and 2 sixes) vs Sri Lanka (in semi-finals).
  • 47 runs from 31 balls (including 4 fours and 1 six) vs Australia (in finals).

Craig Kieswetter: A Debutant’s Thunderstorm

Before the T20 World Cup 2010, the 22-year-old Craig Kieswetter hasn’t played even a single T20I match for England. As a debutant, Craig scored 222 runs and ranked as the fourth-highest run scorer of the tournament. Also, his steady knock of 63 runs in a low-scoring final helped England clinch the trophy by securing a comfortable win by  7 wickets and with 3 overs to spare.

Here are the scores of Craig Kieswetter against these opponent teams in his first T20 World Cup tournament:

  • 26 runs from 14 balls (including 1 four and 3 sixes) vs West Indies.
  • 13 runs from 17 balls vs Ireland.
  • 25 runs from 27 balls (including 3 fours and 1 six) vs Pakistan.
  • 41 runs from 42 balls (including 3 fours and 2 sixes) vs South Africa.
  • 15 runs from 12 balls (including 1 four and 1 six) vs New Zealand.
  • 39 runs from 29 balls (including 5 fours and 2 sixes) vs Sri Lanka (in semi-finals).
  • 63 runs from 49 balls (including 7 fours and 2 sixes) vs Australia (in finals).

Rohit Sharma: A Lone Warrior standing against a Strong Aussie attack

As a 23-year-old middle-order batter, Rohit Sharma counter-attacked the strong bowling unit of the Australian bowlers on a bouncy surface. Chasing a target of 185 runs, the Aussie bowlers namely Dirk Nannes, Mitchell Johnson; Shaun Tait, and Shane Watson were hammering the Indian batters with short balls and high pace, except one— Rohit Sharma.

Despite Rohit Sharma remaining unbeaten by scoring 79 runs from just 46 balls (including 4 fours and 6 sixes); Team India lost the match by 49 runs. This is because the rest of the Indian batters scored just 46 runs; which is not even half of Rohit Sharma’s score, and resulted in the overall team’s score of just 135-10 in 17.4 overs.