Afghanistan vs Bangladesh White Ball Series in Greater Noida is set to be postponed

The white ball series between Afghanistan and Bangladesh, which was supposed to be the first assignment for both teams after the conclusion of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, is set to be postponed. According to the schedule, the series was earlier planned to be held in Greater Noida later this month (between July 25 and August 6).

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) requested the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB), to postpone the forthcoming series, considering the unstable weather conditions in Noida. Also, it is expected that the weather conditions in New Delhi will be too hot in July 2024. 

Currently, both the cricket boards have collaborated to figure out an alternative schedule to host the international series, which includes 3 T20Is (T20 Internationals), and 3 ODIs (One Day Internationals). At the same time, it is challenging to find a suitable date this year amidst the busy schedule for the Bangladesh cricket team.

Why does ACB plan to host a white ball series in Greater Noida?

Once upon a time, the Afghanistan cricket team’s home base was at Shaheed Vijay Singh Pathik Sports Complex in Greater Noida, which motivated the ACB to schedule the white ball series at this venue. Lastly, the venue hosted an international T20 match between Afghanistan and Ireland in March 2020, a few days before the lockdown was declared nationwide due to COVID-19.

Since the Taliban took over Afghanistan in 2021, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has hosted a majority of home games for the Afghanistan Cricket Team. However, after the completion of the ODI World Cup in the previous year, the ACB officials were involved in a detailed discussion with the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) and expressed their willingness to play the home games again in India.

Accepting the request, the BCCI decided to allocate two grounds for ACB at Kanpur and Greater Noida.

The ACB officials have signed a deal with BCCI accepting Greater Noida and Kanpur as their home grounds and are still searching for additional grounds in India.

Bangladesh Fixtures in 2024: Fewer Chances to play series against Afghanistan

After a disappointing campaign of the recently concluded T20 World Cup, the Bangladesh cricket team is packed with a busy schedule for the second half of this year. The fixtures for Bangladesh include the red-ball series against Pakistan and the multi-format series against India and West Indies are mentioned below in detail:

Bangladesh Tour of Pakistan 2024 (August 21 to September 3): 2 Tests

The two test matches between Bangladesh and Pakistan will be played at Rawalpindi and Karachi according to the schedule tabulated below:

Date and DayMatchVenueTimings
21st August (Wednesday) to 25th August (Sunday)PAK vs BAN, 1st Test MatchRawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi10:30 am IST   10:00 am PKT (LOCAL)   11:00 am BST     05:00 am GMT  
30th August (Friday) to 03rd September (Tuesday)PAK vs BAN, 2nd Test MatchNational Stadium, Karachi

Bangladesh Tour of India 2024 (September 19 to October 12): 2 Tests and 3 ODIs

Chennai and Kanpur are the two main venues for the red-ball series between India and Bangladesh, whereas venues such as Dharamsala, Delhi and Hyderabad will host the 3-match T20I series:

IND vs BAN 2-match Test Series:

Date and DayMatchVenueTimings
19th September (Thursday) to 23rd September (Monday)IND vs BAN, 1st Test MatchMA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai09:30 am IST   10:00 am BST     04:00 am GMT
27th September (Friday) to 01st October (Tuesday)IND vs BAN, 2nd Test MatchGreen Park, Kanpur

IND vs BAN 3-match T20I Series:

Date and DayMatchVenueTimings
06th October (Sunday)IND vs BAN, 1st T20I MatchHPCA Stadium, Dharamsala07:00 pm IST   07:30 pm BST     01:30 pm GMT
09th October (Wednesday)IND vs BAN, 2nd T20I MatchArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
12th October (Saturday)IND vs BAN, 3rd T20I MatchRajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Bangladesh Tour of West Indies 2024 (November 22 to December 19): 2 Tests, 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is 

Antigua and Jamaica are the two main venues set to host the red-ball cricket series between Bangladesh and West Indies, whereas St Kitts (for a 3-match ODI series) and St Vincent (for a 3-match T20I series) will host the white ball series:

WI vs BAN 2-match Test Series:

Date and DayMatchVenueTimings
22nd November (Friday) to 26th November (Tuesday)WI vs BAN, 1st Test MatchSir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua07:30 pm IST   02:00 pm GMT     09:00 am LOCAL   08:00 pm BST
30th November (Saturday) to 01st October (Wednesday)WI vs BAN, 2nd Test MatchSabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica

WI vs BAN 3-match ODI Series:

Date and DayMatchVenueTimings
08th December (Sunday)WI vs BAN, 1st ODI MatchWarner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts    07:00 pm IST   01:30 pm GMT     09:30 am LOCAL   07:30 pm BST
10th December (Tuesday)WI vs BAN, 2nd ODI Match
12th December (Thursday)WI vs BAN 3rd ODI Match

WI vs BAN 3-match T20I Series:

Date and DayMatchVenueTimings
15th December (Sunday)WI vs BAN, 1st T20I MatchArnos Vale Ground, Kingstown, St Vincent    07:00 pm IST   01:30 pm GMT     09:30 am LOCAL   07:30 pm BST
17th December (Tuesday)WI vs BAN, 2nd T20I  Match
19th December (Thursday)WI vs BAN 3rd T20I Match

Conclusion:

The postponement of the white ball series is a missed opportunity for both teams, but it highlights the importance of guaranteeing suitable playing conditions for international cricket matches. Currently, Afghanistan’s upcoming fixtures for the next half of 2024 are yet to be decided. In contrast, the above-mentioned schedule for the Bangladesh cricket team points out the fact there is hardly a month gap left for the board to plan for the series against Afghanistan in 2024, and it seems impossible right now.

As the ACB and BCB are working together to find a new schedule, fans will be eagerly waiting for the commencement of this exciting clash between both teams.