Who Will Win Asia Cup 2023? Big Predictions

Asia Cup 2023 predictions have been flying around across reports since the final schedule was released by the ACC. The cricket spectacle sees six (6) qualifying teams slug it out to become Asia Cup champions.

The first-of-its-kind ‘hybrid model’ tournament sees India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal compete for bragging rights as Asia’s best cricket team. Many predictors have used different methods from artificial intelligence (AI) to tournament history to predict this edition’s champions.

Let’s see the most and least likely Asia Cup champions according to teams in this article.

Who Will Win Asia Cup 2023? Big Predictions

India are Clear Favorites to Win Asia Cup 2023

Seven (7) titles out of 15 possible as of 2022 puts India firmly in the Asia Cup 2023 champions conversation. The team has been successful on many occasions and has more winning streaks than any other ACC side in this competition.

Sri Lanka is Second Top Team Tipped to Win Asia Cup 2023

Sri Lanka’s successful outings at previous Asia Cup competitions gives them a shout at this edition. Nine (9)  games scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka also gives the team more home side advantage than Pakistan according to the agreed hybrid model.

Pakistan Has a Fighting Chance to Win 2023 Asia Cup

Hosts Pakistan could bank on their momentum from 2 won titles and home support to get a third Asia Cup in this edition.

Bangladesh are Dark Horses at 2023 Asia Cup

Three runner-up finishes for Bangladesh in the Asia Cup puts them firmly in the conversation to win this year’s edition. India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka have always gotten the better of Bangladesh in ACC competitions, but this could be the Tigers’ season.

In the last five Asia Cups, Bangladesh has been in 3 finals with back-to-back appearances in 2016 and 2018. A strong showing from the 2023 team could see them end their long wait for an Asia Cup trophy.

Afghanistan Has a Slim Chance to Become Asia Cup Champions in 2023

Afghanistan has been a strong opposition for several years in Asia Cup competition. 2023 could be their year if they put up a daring performance against the Big Four – India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

Nepal Winning the Asia Cup on their Debut Will be a Miracle

Nepal will be happy with a feature in the Asia Cup as they’re the least likely to win this edition. Their debut performance leading up to a title will make for a fairytale story, and it will be the highlight of Nepali cricket if they end up pulling multiple upsets to become champions.

Past Winners and Runners-Up of the Asia Cup

1984UAEIndiaSri Lanka
1986Sri LankaSri LankaPakistan
1988BangladeshIndiaSri Lanka
1991IndiaIndiaSri Lanka
1995UAEIndiaSri Lanka
1997Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
2000BangladeshPakistanSri Lanka
2004Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
2008PakistanSri LankaIndia
2010Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2014BangladeshSri LankaPakistan
2022UAESri LankaPakistan

How Many Teams Have Won the Asia Cup 2023?

Sri Lanka, India, and Pakistan have won the Asia Cup among themselves since 1984. See the breakdown of titles won among these teams below:

TeamTimes WonWinning StreaksYear
India7 Times2 (won three titles between 1988 and 1995; won two titles between 2016 and 2018)1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka6 Times1 (won twice between 2004 and 2008)1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan2 Times02000, 2012

India remains the most successful team in Asia Cup history after raking in 7 titles out of a possible 15. Sri Lanka is the second most-successful side in Asia Cup competition, taking in 6 titles with several runner up spots since their first title in 1986.

Pakistan are third in the all-time list of Asia Cup winners, taking the title in 2000 and 2012. Other teams like Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, the UAE, and ACC members have not won the Asia Cup since 1984.  Fans expect a strong showing from any outsider in the Asia Cup could see a first-time winner in coming years.

2023 Asia Cup Prize Money Breakdown

The winners of Asia Cup 2023 will get a huge cash reward for their achievement. Let’s see the prize money offered to winners, top players, and best losers at this edition:

Prize StagesCash Reward
Losing Semi-finalist (all teams)$20,000
Losing Quarterfinalist (all teams)$5000
Man of the Match (every match)$245
Man of the Match (Q/Finals stage)$500
Man of the Match (S/Finals stage)$1,000
Man of the Match (Final)$2,500
Most Valuable Player (MVP) of tournament$5,000