England v Australia Ashes 2023 Schedule and Preview

The series Ashes is one of the world’s most reputed, historical, and traditional cricket series. The 73rd Ashes series between Australia and England will occur from June 16 to July 31 2023. The England v Australia Ashes 2023 will be integral to the World Test Championship from 2023 to 2025.

All the matches of the Ashes series will be played at five different locations, i.e., Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval. England will welcome the Australians for the upcoming Ashes series, the 37th time England will host the series.

Ashes 2023:

The last Ashes series was held in 2019, where both teams won 2 matches and 1 match ended in a draw, so the series was drawn. Thus, Australia is the defending champion because they won the 2017 Ashes. The Ashes 2023 will kick off their journey with the first match, played from 16–20 June 2023 at Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham.

Then, both teams will move to Lord’s, London, to play the 2nd Test. From 6–10 July 2023, both teams will face each other at Headingley Cricket Ground, Leeds, for the 3rd Test. Old Trafford Cricket Ground, Manchester, will host the 4th Test from 19–23 July 2023, and the last match of the Ashes will be played at The Oval, London, from 27–31 July 2023.

Pat Cummins will take charge of captaincy for the Australian side in the Ashes 2023. On the other hand, England is yet to announce their final squad for the series. Ben Stokes will take the responsibility of captain for the English team under the coaching of Brendon McCullum. Australia is at the top position in the ICC Test team ranking, and England is holding the 3rd position. Both teams are the oldest rivalry in test cricket, so Ashes has always been a good source of entertainment for cricket fans.

Ashes Records Till Now

Since 1882, Australia and England have played each other in 72 Ashes series, with Australia winning 34 of them and England winning 32 of them, whereas six of the series ended in draws. Regarding head-to-head in test cricket, England and Australia have met each other in 356 test matches in which Australia won 150 tests, and England achieved the triumph in 110 tests, with 96 tests ending without any result.

Overall, England has appeared in 1060 tests where they earned the victory in 388 matches losing 318 matches and 354 matches completed without any outcome. On the other hand, Australia has appeared in 853 tests in which they won 405 and lost 229 games, with 217 ending in draws.

It would be interesting to watch how Australia will perform to defend the Ashes trophy in the upcoming season of England v Australia Ashes 2023 in June – July.

The scenario:

In June 2023, England will host Australia in a five-day Ashes Test match for the first time. From June 16 to July 31, the men’s five-test Ashes series will take place. Since the first series there in 1884, this will be the first home men’s Ashes series for England without a Test match in August. They play Sri Lanka, while the men also play hosts to Ireland and New Zealand. The international game scheduled for August 30 is the first men’s Twenty20 between England and New Zealand.

Before the men’s England v Australia Ashes 2023, England will play Ireland in a one-off, four-day Test at Lord’s from June 1-4. After the Test, there will be three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches as part of the women’s Ashes. It is a fantastic moment, said Heather Knight, the captain of the England team, who said: “I’m delighted. I feel like I’ve been banging the drum for five days for a long time.” “I spent most of my professional life practising gratitude.

However, the Sky has the rights for domestic Tests and will broadcast all five matches exclusively live on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event. “Next summer will be huge for England women and England men,” said England and Wales Cricket Board interim chief executive Clare Connor.


The tradition of the series will be continued on the grounds where thousands of people will come and cheer for their favourite cricketers. Knight’s side and Ben Stokes’ men’s team attempt to regain the Ashes following heavy defeats in Australia last winter. England v Australia Ashes 2023 will be England’s first visit to Trent Bridge since 2000, while Edgbaston, Lord’s and the Oval will all be hosting their first Ashes T-20s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *