The IPL is back: What are the six main talking points?

Finally, the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League has started with the season opener contest between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru. The defending champions secured a 6-wicket thumping victory over the Red Army on 22nd March 2024 (Friday) at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. As the new season commences, there are six main talking points about the IPL among many cricket enthusiasts.

Similar to the previous edition, these ten different teams are participating in the Indian Premier League 2024 namely:

  1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  2. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  3. Gujarat Titans (GT)
  4. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  5. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
  6. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
  7. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)
  8. Punjab Kings (PBKS)
  9. Delhi Capitals (DC)
  10. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

During the previous year’s auction, these two Australian cricketers created a sensation by becoming the most expensive players in IPL history namely:

  • Mitchell Starc (INR 24.75 Crores): KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS
  • Pat Cummins (INR 20.50 Crores): SUNRISERS HYDERABAD

It would be interesting to decode the six main debated points of the Indian Premier League that have grabbed the headlines in recent times.

Top six main talking points of the Indian Premier League in recent times

These are the six major hot topics of the Indian Premier League which has increased to a peak level after the tournament started:

1. Can Virat Kohli be a part of RCB’s maiden title win that has avoided him for many years?

Virat Kohli is one such Indian player who has enjoyed success hugely in the world of cricket—except for a maiden IPL title for RCB. The Indian right-handed batter has contributed his best efforts for the time since the inaugural edition in 2008.

Kohli ranks as the leading run scorer in Indian Premier League history. Also, he holds the record for most IPL centuries as a batsman. Shockingly, RCB has been into the Indian Premier League finals three times in the years 2009, 2011 and 2016, but concluded as the runner-up.

As the 35-year-old cricketer is approaching the twilight period of his career, he would like to be a part of the winning squad. Overall, the current RCB team led by Faf du Plessis has strengthened. It includes a combination of talented Australian all-rounders like Glenn Maxwell and Cameron Green along with the presence of Indian pace bowler Mohammed Siraj.

2. Will Mitchell Starc live upto the worth of his IPL Contract?

The left-arm Australian pacer Mitchell Starc has created a huge impact by grabbing the costliest offer ever in the history of the Indian Premier League. With 74 wickets in 60 T20 internationals, the 34-year-old cricketer needs to prove his worth for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) franchise that has invested a huge amount of $2.98 million.

3. MS Dhoni’s sudden decision to step down as CSK captain: How will the team perform under a new skipper?

Ahead of the curtain opener of the IPL 2024 match between CSK and RCB, the legendary Indian cricketer MS Dhoni made a shocking decision by stepping down as the CSK captain. Furthermore, he assigned the responsibility to the young Indian opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad.

Fans started doubting that Dhoni’s sudden decision could be a hint to the cricket world that this IPL 2024 could be his last season, although the exact reason remains unclear. Whereas, a few others predicted that MS Dhoni wanted to give a chance to the young Indian talents. It remains to be seen how CSK will perform under a new skipper in the ongoing edition.

Also, fans question whether Chennai Super Kings has the chance to win the 6th IPL title under a new skipper and give a perfect farewell to MS Dhoni if he plans to retire.

4. Is the Indian election delaying the launch of the complete IPL 2024 Schedule?

According to the latest Lok Sabha election schedule, the polls run from 19th April and conclude on 4th June, which causes a delay for BCCI to launch the complete IPL 2024 schedule.

Earlier, the BCCI released the partial schedule of the IPL 2024 till 7th April. According to the first phase, a total of 21 matches will be played at 10 different venues across India. Recently, the BCCI secretary Jay Shah confirmed that the entire IPL 2024 will be hosted in India. Furthermore, he stated that there isn’t any plan to organize the second phase of the tournament overseas due to the elections.

As the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is set to begin on 1st June, there aren’t any chances of halting or postponing IPL 2024 after the elections. Also, Jay Shah promised that BCCI will release the remaining schedule for the continuing Indian Premier League. As a result, fans are eagerly waiting for the next official update.

5. CSK vs MI: The battle to become the most successful team in the Indian Premier League History?

Since CSK and MI jointly hold the record for most wins, fans are eagerly waiting to witness if any of these teams could win this season to become the most successful team in Indian Premier League history.

Interestingly, both the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings became successful teams in IPL under the former captains Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni.

Here are the following years that Mumbai Indians were the 5-time defending champions against these teams in the finals under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy:

YearsWinning MarginOpposition Team
2013Won by 23 runsChennai Super Kings
2015Won by 41 runsChennai Super Kings
2017Won by 1 runRising Pune Supergiants
2019Won by 1 runChennai Super Kings
2020Won by 5 wicketsDelhi Capitals

Similarly, Chennai Super Kings became the 2nd team to win the trophy 5 times under MS Dhoni’s leadership:

YearsWinning MarginOpposition Team
2010Won by 22 runsMumbai Indians 
2011Won by 58 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2018Won by 8 wickets Sunrisers Hyderabad
2021Won by 27 runsKolkata Knight Riders 
2023Won by 5 wicketsGujarat Titans

Ultimately, it is a challenge for both these franchises to win the 6th IPL trophy under their new skippers namely:

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad: Chennai Super Kings new captain
  • Hardik Pandya: Mumbai Indians new captain

6. Can Pat Cummins test his fortunes by winning another title for SRH under his maiden T20 captaincy?

It is a challenge for the SRH to win another title under a new skipper Pat Cummins who has to test his luck through his maiden T20 captaincy in IPL.

The 2023 World Cup-winning captain has been enjoying continuous test series against Pakistan (3-0) and New Zealand (2-0), as well as a levelled contest against West Indies (1-1) after the grand tournament.

After grabbing the 2nd costliest package in the auction, the Aussie cricketer needs to establish himself as a successful captain in the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League.