Pakistan vs Bangladesh Test matches 2024: Possible venues selected for two-match test series

Pakistan is getting ready to compete against Bangladesh in the two-match home test series in August 2024, but the venues for the fixtures are yet to be finalized.

According to the local media, Rawalpindi and Multan might be the two possible venues to host the matches. This is because of the ongoing renovation work in Karachi and Lahore’s iconic stadium, in advance of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025. As a result, hosting the test series between Pakistan and Bangladesh at Karachi and Lahore seems to be impossible. 

However, discussions are active between the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) to finalize the venue and dates. Currently, Pakistan has been eliminated from the T20 World Cup 2024 and Bangladesh is participating in the Super 8 stages of the tournament. So, it is expected that the schedule will be announced soon in the upcoming days.

You need to know that the upcoming Bangladesh tour of Pakistan is part of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25. Also, if you observe the head-to-head stats of Pakistan vs Bangladesh, the contests have been completely one-sided in 12 out of 13 test matches.

Moreover, the scheduled test series is an essential assignment for Shan Masood and Jason Gillespie. The selection committee has already commenced their discussion regarding Pakistan’s squad for the red-ball cricket series against Bangladesh.

Pakistan’s Squad for 2-match Test Series against Bangladesh

As of June 2024, the squads for the Pakistan cricket team for the 2-match test series are yet to be announced officially. But, there are chances that Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha, Abdullah Shafique, and former team captain and wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfaraz Ahmed could be a part of the final squad.

At the same time, the white-ball captain Babar Azam along with Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi will be rested for the two test matches against Bangladesh, whereas Haris Rauf’s presence has not even been discussed till now. 

Also, fast bowlers like Naseem Shah, Mir Hamza, Shahnawaz Dahani, Aamir Jamal, and Khurram Shahzad are being considered for selection.

Mainly, the selection committee prioritizes including only the talented candidates in the squad to maintain a perfect balance between experience and new dynamic energy.

A crucial series for Shan Masood and Jason Gillespie

The forthcoming test series will be Gillespie’s first task as Pakistan’s head coach for the test cricket team after his appointment in April 2024. Whereas, Shan Masood needs to prove his captaincy after his appointment in the previous year. His first stint as a captain wasn’t successful since Pakistan faced a complete sweep against Australia in the 3-match test series with an outcome of 3-0.

At present, Shan Masood is currently the skipper of the Yorkshire County Cricket Club in the County Championship.

Bangladesh Tour of Pakistan: Previous Meeting

After four years, Bangladesh will be touring Pakistan to play two test matches. In 2020, Bangladesh toured Pakistan for 3 T20Is, 2 Tests, and 1 ODI from January 24 to April 9. Pakistan triumphed over Bangladesh in the 3-match T20I series with a result of 2-0, as the last game was abandoned due to severe rains.

Out of the two test matches, Pakistan won a single game by an innings and 44 runs against Bangladesh, whereas the other match was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Similarly, the only ODI match was called off for the same reason.

Pakistan vs Bangladesh Head-to-Head in Tests

Bangladesh and Pakistan have faced each other in 13 Test matches. Out of which, Pakistan emerged victorious in 12 matches (5 wins at homeground and 7 wins at the opponent team’s homeground) along with a draw result. Whereas, Bangladesh is yet to feel the essence of success in test cricket on Pakistan’s homeground.

Here is the result of the PAK vs BAN Test match from 2001 to 2021:

YearNumber of matches in a yearVenueWinnerResult
20011Multan Cricket Stadium (Pakistan)PAKISTANWon an innings and 264 runs
20022Bangabandhu National Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by an innings and 178 runs
MA Aziz Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by an innings and 169 runs
20033National Stadium (Karachi, Pakistan)PAKISTANWon by 7 wickets
Arbab Niaz Stadium (Pakistan)PAKISTANWon by 9 wickets
Multan Cricket Stadium (Pakistan)PAKISTANWon by 1 wicket
20112Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by an innings and 184 runs
Shere Bangla National Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by 7 wickets
20152Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTAN and BANGLADESHDraw match
Shere Bangla National Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by 328 runs
20201Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium (Pakistan)PAKISTANWon by an innings and 44 runs
20212Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by 8 wickets
Shere Bangla National Stadium (Bangladesh)PAKISTANWon by an innings and 8 runs